STARTING FROM 07 November 2008
Glass.China
Contemporary Glass, Photography

Glass.China is a pioneering exhibition. It shows sculptures of significant Chinese artists together with photographs of China by the German film artist and photographer Ulrike Ottinger. The exhibition captures a rare and extraordinary epoch in the social and cultural development of China and is the first exhibition of an exciting artistic phenomenon that has not been seen outside of China to date.

NEW IN CHINA: CONTEMPORARY GLASS
Glass is being used in China as a medium for contemporary art only since 2000: a very short time compared to the USA, Europe, Australia, and Japan where studio glass has increasingly gained in significance since the 1960s. Meanwhile the first generation of artists has emerged, unnoticed by the international art and glass scene. After several years of seeking and learning, in part by imitating Western models, artists have started to develop their own language. Original inventions are on the increase; the initial anonymity is starting to dissipate. Artists link and fuse the new from the West with their own national traditions and skills. Contents, message, and symbolism stand in the foreground; beauty and the particular qualities of the material glass receive little emphasis on the other hand. Some works address social problems with great sensitivity. They have a contemporary energy and are often anchored in Chinese cultural and historical traditions.
The artists: Guan Donghai, He Mei Dan, Lee Carol, Lee Ringo, Li Fubiao, Li Zhenning, Sun Yi, Wang Qin, Wang Sunny, Xue Lu, Zhao Tingting and Zhuang Xiao Wei.

NEW AT THE FOUNDATION: PHOTOGRAPHY
With its first presentation of photographic works, the foundation makes its aim to show works of art beyond the medium of glass, as determined at the beginning of 2008, publicly visible. Ulrike Ottinger, one of Germany’s most original women filmmakers, has visited China repeatedly since 1984. In her series of works entitled Behind Glass, Ulrike Ottinger uses glass as a means to create boundaries and distance between two areas: outside and inside, private and public, I and the others. At the same time glass connects. The viewer sees and experiences the next level through its transparency and spontaneously becomes a participating observer.

1 from 5

AB 07. November 2008
Glass.China
Zeitgenössisches Glas, Fotografien

Die Ausstellung Glass.China hat Pioniercharakter. Sie zeigt Skulpturen wichtiger chinesischer Künstlerinnen und Künstler im Zusammenhang mit Fotografien aus China von der deutschen Filmkünstlerin und Fotografin Ulrike Ottinger. Die Ausstellung fängt eine seltene und außergewöhnliche Epoche in der gesellschaftlichen sowie künstlerischen Entwicklung Chinas ein und ist die erste Ausstellung eines aufregenden künstlerischen Phänomens, das bis jetzt außerhalb Chinas so noch nicht zu sehen war.

NEU IN CHINA: ZEITGENÖSSISCHES GLAS
Glas wird in China seit dem Jahr 2000 als Medium in der zeitgenössischen Kunst verwendet. Eine sehr kurze Zeit im Vergleich zu den USA, Europa, Australien und Japan, wo Studioglas seit den sechziger Jahren immer mehr Verbreitung fand. Inzwischen ist, von der internationalen Kunst- und Glasszene unbemerkt, eine erste Generation Künstlerinnen und Künstler herangewachsen. Nach einigen Jahren des Suchens und Lernens, teilweise durch Nachahmen der westlichen Vorbilder geprägt, beginnen sie eine eigene Sprache zu entwickeln. Spannende Eigenentwicklungen nehmen zu, die anfängliche Gesichtslosigkeit verliert sich. Sie verbinden, verschmelzen das Neue des Westens mit ihren landeseigenen Traditionen und Fertigkeiten. Inhalt, Aussage und Symbolik stehen im Vordergrund; Schönheit oder die besondere Qualität des Materials Glas werden dagegen weniger hervorgehoben. Soziale Themen werden sensibel angesprochen. Die Arbeiten lassen zeitgenössische Energie spüren und werden häufig entsprechend der chinesischen Tradition historisch-kulturell verankert.
Die Künstler: Guan Donghai, He Mei Dan, Lee Carol, Lee Ringo, Li Fubiao, Li Zhenning, Sun Yi, Wang Qin, Wang Sunny, Xue Lu, Zhao Tingting, Zhuang Xiao Wei.

NEU IN DER STIFTUNG: FOTOGRAFIE

Mit der erstmaligen Präsentation von Fotoarbeiten zeigt die Stiftung auch öffentlich, dass sie zu Beginn des Jahres 2008 im Bereich Kunst ihren Stiftungszweck über Arbeiten mit dem Medium Glas hinaus erweitert hat. Ulrike Ottinger, eine der eigenwilligsten deutschen Filmemacherinnen, war seit 1984 wiederholt in China. Glas wird in Ulrike Ottingers ausgestellten Fotoarbeiten Hinter Glas zum einen als Mittel eingesetzt, um Abgrenzung und Distanz zwischen zwei Bereichen herzustellen: innen – außen, privat – öffentlich, ich – die anderen. Gleichzeitig verbindet es. Der Betrachter sieht und erlebt durch seine Transparenz eine nächste Ebene und wird unwillkürlich zum teilnehmenden Beobachter.

Vorschaubild: Donghai Guan, White Sword, 2008 © Donghai Guan

1 von 5