STARTING FROM 15 October 2013
Wo bist du? Where Are You?
Sculptures by Erwin Eisch

With Wo bist du? Skulpturen von Erwin Eisch (Where Are You? Sculptures by Erwin Eisch), the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung begins a new series of exhibitions. After shows focusing on countries and themes, the foundation now presents a series entitled MASTER | MEISTER. It introduces outstanding artists who use glass as a medium for artistic expression in their work. The first exhibition in the new series explores the multifaceted work of Erwin Eisch (born 1927), one of the pioneers of the studio-glass movement.

Characteristic of Erwin Eisch’s approach to his work is the critical analysis of his environment. With his very own poetic perspective and the humor with which he alienates everyday things, he questions the familiar and forces changed perceptions. The impressive series of large portrait heads are the focus of the exhibition. Their message goes beyond that of portraits and shows his special view of his contemporaries and celebrities, as well as of himself in his self-portraits. Blown of glass and painted in such a manner that viewers can only just intuit the original material, they convey an impression of Eisch’s innovative sculptural and painterly language.

As early as the 1950s, Erwin Eisch experimented with the material glass at his family’s glass furnace. As son of a glassmaking family and graduate of the Akademie der Bildenden Künste München, Eisch regarded the glassmaking tradition critically. In contrast to the typical production of utility glass in the Bavarian Forest, Erwin Eisch developed non-functional objects alienated from any purpose, often containing a touch of irony. These early works, another area the exhibition focuses on, are relatively little known since they have rarely been on view. The free-formed objects on different themes of everyday life, entitled Provokation der Form (Provocation of Form), allow important insights into Eisch’s artistic thinking. Eisch emphasizes the plastic qualities of the material glass during the process of melting and solidifying; he uses glass not in the traditional language of form but as sculptural carrier of his artistic message.

The third area the current exhibition reviews is Erwin Eisch’s and his later wife Gretel’s colorful period at the art academy in Munich. While he was still a student, Eisch became a founding member of the SPUR group in 1957 and a few years later formed the notorious group RADAMA. In a gallery in Schwabing, RADAMA staged an event that provoked the Munich art scene in 1961: A memorial exhibition about the fictional painter Bolus Krim. With the help of newspaper articles and other documents, sculptures and paintings from the period, the present exhibition revives a project that excited considerable press attention in all of Germany at that time.

1 from 5

AB 15. Oktober 2013
Wo bist du? Where Are You?
Skulpturen von Erwin Eisch

Mit der Ausstellung Wo bist du? Skulpturen von Erwin Eisch startet die
Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung in München zusätzlich zu ihren Themen- und
Länderausstellungen die neue Ausstellungsreihe MASTER | MEISTER. Hier werden herausragende Künstlerpersönlichkeiten vorgestellt, die in ihrer Arbeit Glas als Medium des künstlerischen Ausdrucks einsetzen. Den Auftakt bildet mit seinem facettenreichen Werk Erwin Eisch (geb. 1927), einer der Väter der Studioglasbewegung.

Das künstlerische Schaffen von Erwin Eisch wird durch die kritische
Auseinandersetzung mit seiner Umwelt bestimmt. Mit seiner ganz eigenen poetischen Denkweise sowie seinem die alltäglichen Dinge verfremdenden Humor stellt er Gewohntes in Frage und erzwingt veränderte Sichtweisen. Seine eindrucksvollen Serien von großen Köpfen stehen im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung. Sie gehen in ihrer Aussage über das Portrait hinaus und zeigen seine spezielle Sicht auf Weggefährten, berühmte Persönlichkeiten sowie in Selbstportraits auch auf ihn selbst. Aus Glas geblasen und so bemalt, dass das ursprüngliche Material nur zu erahnen ist, vermitteln sie eindrücklich die Kraft der innovativen skulpturalen und malerischen Sprache von Erwin Eisch.

Bereits in den 1950er Jahren experimentiert Erwin Eisch am heimischen Glasofen mit dem Material Glas. Als Sohn einer Glasmacherfamilie und Absolvent der Münchner Kunstakademie steht er der traditionellen Glasgestaltung kritisch gegenüber. So entstehen – im Gegensatz zu seinem Umfeld im Bayerischen Wald, das Gebrauchsglas herstellt – zweckentfremdete, nicht gebrauchsfähige Objekte, häufig mit einem Hauch leiser Ironie. Diese frühen Arbeiten, ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Ausstellung, sind eher unbekannt, da sie nur selten gezeigt werden. Die freigestalteten Objekte zu unterschiedlichen Themen des Alltags, als „Provokation der Form“ tituliert, geben einen wichtigen Einblick in Eischs künstlerisches Denken. Er betont die plastischen Qualitäten des Materials Glas beim Schmelzen bzw. Erstarren und nutzt es nicht in der herkömmlichen Formensprache sondern als skulpturalen Träger seiner künstlerischen Mitteilung.

Die bewegte Studienzeit von Erwin Eisch und seiner späteren Frau Gretel an der Kunstakademie München ist der dritte Themenkomplex der Ausstellung. Noch als Student war Eisch 1957 Gründungsmitglied der Gruppe SPUR und gründete einige Jahre danach selbst die skandalumwitterte Gruppe RADAMA. In einer Galerie in Schwabing inszenierte diese Gruppe 1961 ein die Münchner Kunstwelt provozierendes Event: Die Gedächtnisausstellung über den fiktiven Maler Bolus Krim. Zeitungsartikel, Fotografien sowie Skulpturen und Malerei aus der Zeit lassen ein Projekt wieder aufleben, das damals die Presse in ganz Deutschland beschäftigte.

1 von 5