Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung

Art and Science
The Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung supports art and science. It was established in December 2000 by Alexander Tutsek and Dr. Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek as a nonprofit foundation in Munich. The foundation is deliberately committed to the special, the neglected, and the overlooked.

 

1. Activities in Art

Exhibitions and Art Collection
In its internationally oriented exhibition and collecting activities, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung concentrates on contemporary sculptures and installations using the medium of glass and on modern photography. It regularly presents exhibitions on innovative themes. The headquarters of the foundation in Munich, in a Jugendstil villa in Schwabing that was once a sculptor’s studio, provide an ideal setting. Particular attention is paid to glass as a material and its numerous and new possibilities in art. That also influences the acquisitions for the collection. They include works both by young artists and internationally renowned ones such as, recently, Tony Cragg, Mona Hatoum, Kiki Smith, Pae White, and others. New acquisitions in the area of photography include works by artists such as James Casebere, Stan Douglas, and Robert Rauschenberg.

Supporting Young Artists
In 2016, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung launched a large sponsorship program to improve education for students in the field of sculpture with a focus on glass. It includes, among other things, exhibitions of student projects, the production of elaborate works of art, and provide adequate technology for workshops. For example, the Freie Kunst Glas (Free Art in Glass) course at the Institut für Künstlerische Keramik und Glas (IKKG) at the Hochschule Koblenz has been receiving generous financial support from the foundation for several years now, as have the annual exhibition of the glass course at the Akademie der bildenden Künste in Munich and the Staatliche Glasfachschule Rheinbach. The foundation is also devoting itself to various projects for the further education of specific artists who work with glass as a material or in the field of photograph, for example, by awarding scholarships to the Pilchuck Glass School in the United States.

Institutional Support
As part of its support for institutions, the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung has been the primary sponsor of the Haus der Kunst in Munich, which permits substantial, extensive support. In addition to its ongoing commitment, it supports innovative exhibitions on photography at the Haus der Kunst such as Thomas Struth. For the Photography and New Media Collection at the Pinakothek der Moderne, the foundation has funded the acquisition of important works of photography such as recently the famous series The Brown Sisters by Nicholas Nixon. In addition, until 2020 it is fully supporting the three-part exhibition series Fotografie heute – Künstlerische Fotografie im digitalen Zeitalter (Photography Today: Art Photography in the Digital Age). Young artists working in the field of photography are thus given a unique forum in a museum.

 

2. Activities in Science

Supporting Research
For the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung, supporting research and teaching in engineering is one important concern. Engineering makes the knowledge gained in the natural sciences available in our daily lives and thus represents the technological progress of society. The focus of its funding measures is currently on basic and applied research in the areas of glass, ceramics, stones, and earths. These fields, which provide important insights for other areas of engineering, are increasingly ignored as support instead benefits “modern” fields. To ensure that it does not become a marginal field at technical universities, and to make it more attractive to students, universities and innovative research projects are given financial support. For example, for many years the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung has been funding larger research projects, dissertation scholarships, and more at the Technische Universität in Dortmund, the Technische Universität Bergakademie in Freiberg, and the Universität Koblenz-Landau. It supports the acquisition of high-quality instruments and funds other equipment necessary for teaching.

Supporting Young Scientists
Supporting a broad range of young scientists as specialists and engineers is another important task for the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung. It focuses on improving educational opportunities. The foundation has donated funds for education in all professional fields related to ceramics, for students not only at universities but also at technical colleges and high schools. In this context, the foundation awards many scholarships as well as funding prizes for outstanding achievements and social commitment from young talents. Since 2019, it has also been awarding thirty Germany scholarships at the Technische Universität in Munich to students of the natural sciences.

Overview of the areas of activity of the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung

TOP OF THE PAGE
Funding

If you are interested in receiving funding, please check whether your planned project is in an area supported by the foundation (see Art and Science). If this is the case, please contact us using the form “Request for Funding.”

Please note that decisions on requests are made once per quarter. In general, requests should be submitted at least four months before the start of the project.

TOP OF THE PAGE
Team

Dr. Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek
Chairwoman of the Board

Maleachi Bühringer
Member of the Board

Dr. Ulrich Wacker
Member of the Board

Barbara Kunze
Foundation Manager, Master of Business Administration

Ayşegül Cihangir
Assistant to the Board, Art Historian M. A.

Katharina Wenkler (in parental leave)
Assistant to the Board, Cultural Manager M. A.

Dr. Petra Giloy-Hirtz
Artistic Advisor

TOP OF THE PAGE
SEAT OF THE FOUNDATION
Architecture

The foundation is located in a listed Art-Nouveau villa in Munich-Schwabing. The architect German Bestelmeyer (1874 – 1942), who also built, for example, the extension of the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (Lichthof), designed the villa with a large studio for his friend Georg Albertshofer. The foundation’s temporary exhibitions are held in Albertshofer’s former studio. Albertshofer (1864 – 1933) was a professor at the Münchner Kunstakademie and worked in his studio on Karl-Theodor-Strasse as a sculptor. There he created works such as the fountain for Delikatessenhaus Dallmayr (1912) or the Column of Benno in front of the Church of St. Benno in Munich-Maxvorstadt (1910, together with German Bestelmeyer and Ferdinand von Miller). Many of the sculptures he designed are on view close to his studio, at the Maximiliansgymnasium and Oskar-von-Miller Gymnasium: for instance, on the portals, and in the joint schoolyard, the sculptural group Romulus and Remus.

Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung

Kunst und Wissenschaft
Die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung fördert Kunst und Wissenschaft. Sie wurde im Dezember 2000 von Alexander Tutsek und Dr. Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek als gemeinnützige Stiftung in München gegründet. Die Stiftung engagiert sich bewusst für das Spezielle, das Besondere oder auch das Vernachlässigte, Übersehene.

 

1. Tätigkeitsbereich Kunst

Ausstellungen und Kunstsammlung
In ihrer international orientierten Ausstellungs- und Sammlungstätigkeit konzentriert sich die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung auf zeitgenössische Skulpturen und Installationen mit dem Medium Glas sowie auf moderne Fotografie. Sie zeigt regelmäßig Ausstellungen zu innovativen Themen. Der Sitz der Stiftung in München in einer Schwabinger Jugendstilvilla, einem ehemaligen Bildhaueratelier, bietet dafür einen idealen Rahmen. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit gilt dem Glas als Material und seinen vielfältigen und neuartigen Möglichkeiten in der Kunst. Das bestimmt auch die Ankäufe der Sammlung. Es sind Arbeiten junger sowie international renommierter Künstlerinnen und Künstler wie zuletzt Tony Cragg, Mona Hatoum, Kiki Smith, Pae White u. a. Im Bereich der Fotografie gehören zu den Neuerwerbungen Künstler wie James Casebere, Stan Douglas und Robert Rauschenberg.

Nachwuchsförderung
Die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung startete 2016 ein großes Förderprogramm zur Verbesserung der Ausbildung von Kunststudierenden im Fach Skulptur mit dem Schwerpunkt Glas. Es umfasst unter anderem studentische Ausstellungsprojekte, die Produktion aufwändiger Kunstwerke sowie eine adäquate technische Ausstattung der Werkstätten. So erhält die Klasse Freie Kunst Glas des Instituts für Künstlerische Keramik und Glas (IKKG) der Hochschule Koblenz von der Stiftung über mehrere Jahre eine umfangreiche finanzielle Unterstützung wie auch die Jahresausstellung der Glasklasse der Akademie der bildenden Künste in München oder die Staatliche Glasfachschule Rheinbach. Die Stiftung widmet sich darüber hinaus in verschiedenen Projekten der Weiterbildung einzelner Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die mit dem Material Glas oder im Bereich Fotografie arbeiten wie z. B. der Vergabe von Stipendien für die Pilchuck Glass School in den USA .

Institutionsförderung
Im Rahmen ihrer Unterstützung von Institutionen ist die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung seit 2016 Hauptförderin des Haus der Kunst München und ermöglicht so eine substantielle, umfassende Förderung. Zusätzlich zu dem laufenden Engagement fördert sie innovative Ausstellungen zur Fotografie des Haus der Kunst wie etwa Thomas Struth. Für die Sammlung Fotografie und Neue Medien der Pinakothek der Moderne finanzierte die Stiftung den Ankauf bedeutender Werke der Fotografie wie zuletzt die berühmte Serie The Brown Sisters von Nicholas Nixon. Darüber hinaus fördert sie bis 2020 komplett die dreiteilige Ausstellungsreihe Fotografie heute – Künstlerische Fotografie im digitalen Zeitalter. Junge Kunstschaffende auf dem Gebiet der Fotografie erhalten dadurch ein einmaliges Forum in einem Museum.

 

2. Tätigkeitsbereich Wissenschaft

Forschungsförderung
Für die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung ist die Förderung der Forschung und Lehre in den Ingenieurwissenschaften ein wichtiges Anliegen. Die Ingenieurwissenschaften nutzen das in den Naturwissenschaften gewonnene Wissen für unser tägliches Leben und stellen damit den technischen Fortschritt der Gesellschaft dar. Der Schwerpunkt der Fördermaßnahmen liegt zurzeit auf der Grundlagen- und angewandten Forschung in den Fachgebieten Glas, Keramik, Steine und Erden. Diese Fächer, die wichtige Erkenntnisse für andere Teilgebiete der Ingenieurwissenschaften liefern, werden in der Förderung immer mehr zu Gunsten „moderner“ Fachgebiete vernachlässigt. Damit sie kein Randgebiet an den Technischen Universitäten werden und um sie für Studenten attraktiver zu machen, werden Universitäten und innovative Forschungsprojekte finanziell unterstützt. So vergibt die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung seit vielen Jahren zur Förderung größerer Forschungsprojekte Promotionsstipendien u. a. an der Technischen Universität Dortmund, der Technischen Universität Bergakademie Freiberg und der Universität Koblenz-Landau. Sie unterstützt die Anschaffung von hochwertigen Geräten und finanziert sonstige für die Lehre notwendige Ausstattungen.

Nachwuchsförderung
Die Förderung eines breiten Nachwuchses von Fachkräften und Ingenieurinnen und Ingenieuren ist für die Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung eine weitere Aufgabe. Sie legt dabei den Schwerpunkt auf die Verbesserung der Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten. Stiftungsgelder für die Ausbildung in allen keramischen Berufsfeldern erhalten nicht nur Studierende an Universitäten, sondern auch Fachhochschüler und Fachschüler. In diesem Rahmen vergibt die Stiftung in großem Umfang Stipendien sowie Preisgelder für herausragende Leistungen und soziales Engagement an Nachwuchstalente. Seit 2019 vergibt sie zusätzlich an der Technischen Universität München 30 Deutschlandstipendien an Studierende in naturwissenschaftlichen Fächern.

Übersicht über die Tätigkeitsfelder der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung

ZUM SEITENANFANG
Förderung

Bitte prüfen Sie, bevor Sie ein Projekt zur Förderung einreichen, ob es den Förderzielen der Stiftung entspricht (siehe Kunst und Wissenschaft). Förderanfragen können nur über das Formular auf der Website eingereicht werden.

Beachten Sie, dass über Förderanträge einmal im Vierteljahr entschieden wird. Anträge sollten in der Regel mindestens vier Monate vor gewünschtem Projektbeginn eingereicht werden.

ZUM SEITENANFANG
Team

Dr. Eva-Maria Fahrner-Tutsek
Vorstandsvorsitzende

Maleachi Bühringer
Stellvertretender Vorstandsvorsitzender

Dr. Ulrich Wacker
Mitglied des Vorstands

Ayşegül Cihangir
Assistentin des Vorstands, Kunsthistorikerin M. A.

Katharina Wenkler (geb. Parschakow)
Assistentin des Vorstands, Kulturmanagerin M. A.

Dr. Petra Giloy-Hirtz
Künstlerische Beratung

ZUM SEITENANFANG
SITZ DER STIFTUNG
Die Architektur

Die Stiftung hat ihren Sitz in einer denkmalgeschützten Jugendstilvilla in München-Schwabing. Der Architekt German Bestelmeyer (1874 – 1942) zu dessen Bauten in München u. a. der Erweiterungsbau der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität mit dem Lichthof zählt, entwarf sie für seinen Freund Georg Albertshofer mit einem großen Atelier. In dem ehemaligen Bildhauer-Atelier werden die wechselnden Ausstellungen der Stiftung gezeigt. Albertshofer (1864 – 1933) war Professor an der Münchner Kunstakademie und arbeitete in seinem Atelier in der Karl-Theodor-Strasse als Bildhauer. Dort entstanden Werke wie der Brunnen im Delikatessenhaus Dallmayr (1912) oder die Bennosäule vor der Kirche St. Benno in der Maxvorstadt in München (1910, gemeinsam mit German Bestelmeyer und Ferdinand von Miller). Ganz in der Nachbarschaft seines Ateliers, am Maximilians- und Oskar-von-Miller-Gymnasium, sind viele von ihm gestaltete Figuren zu sehen, (u. a. an den Portalen) und im gemeinsamen Schulhof die Skulpturengruppe Romulus und Remus.

ALEXANDER TUTSEK-STIFTUNG

Karl-Theodor-Straße 27    80803 München    Germany    Telefon +49-89-55 27 30 60    info(at)atstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten (während der Ausstellung)    Dienstag bis Freitag 14:00 - 18:00 Uhr    Feiertags geschlossen